Wednesday, June 10, 2015

ASKING POISON IVY TO EXPLAIN ITSELF

Nothing can make you see
our rightful place along the
edges of fields and roads
when we embrace without
price the slouching earth
or feed without pain the
silent grazers.

Nor force you to accept a
power beyond control or
the reach of seasons,
leaves green or red
or none at all, the living
elixir endlessly coursing
through us.

Nor help you finally to value
a different reserve of oil, one
double burning in both your
fragile air and your
fine lungs as you try to
torch us like every other
thing you hate.


About Rick Mitchell:
Rick Mitchell a lifelong resident of New York State; except for the four years he lived in Reno and attended the University of Nevada. Over the years, he has been fortunate enough to find a receptive audience among many editors of magazines across the country.  His poems have recently appeared in the Louisville Review, The Pittsburg Quarterly, Skylark and the Cimarron Review.  Chiron Review Press published Speaking of Seed and Night, his first book of poetry, and Aldrich Press published Before Every Other Fall in 2014.

Monday, March 16, 2015

WEATHER VANE

Woods and fields gather autumn leaves
as flocks flying southward  stop to roost.

Spare, golden sunlight fills the air.
I walk through this field alone, unafraid,

preoccupied with thoughts of tomorrow.
The wind rustles the bare branches

of a solitary sycamore and I come upon
a ramshackle barn with an old weather vane

that points the long way home.

About Anderson O'Brien:
Anderson O'Brien lives in Columbia, SC with her husband. She has published poetry in several publications including The Kentucky Review, Iodine Poetry Journal, and Blue Fifth Review.

Friday, January 9, 2015

A STORMY NIGHT AS THE ELECTRICITY GOES ON AND OFF

The falling rain
sounds like a
huge crackling campfire
and the dog is
under the bed pretending
to be the cat.

Everyone on TV
is dancing a weird tango
(especially the politicians)
and the radio refuses
to be coherent.

A Brahms sonata
is waffling up from
the garbage disposal
and the thunder is
plummeting through the
Oregon wilderness,
screeching like Big Foot
with a shovel jammed
up his anus.


About Doug Draime:
Doug Draime’s most recent book is More Than The Alley, released in 2012 by Interior Noise. Also available are four chapbooks: Dusk With Carol (Kendra Steiner Editions), In Back Of Madam Wong’s (Epic Rites/Tree Killer Press), Los Angeles Terminal: Poems 1971-1980 (Covert Press), and an online chap: Speed Of Light (Right Hand Pointing). Doug was Awarded small PEN grants in 1987, 1991, and 1992. In more recent years, he has been nominated for several Pushcart Prizes. 

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

AUTUMN RHYTHM

A family full of men,
strong—

Hunters,
animals of all kinds,

life with boots trapped
in water. 

A wife and daughter
left to tend to a
father’s broken

body;

A child, exuding
autumn yellow—

October, a time for
weddings with apples

and a careful arrangement
of bones, dusted as if
they belong to someone
much older;

I, the daughter—

Autumn—

There will only ever be one. 


About Kristin LaFollette:
Kristin LaFollette received her BA and MA in English and creative writing from Indiana University. Her poems have been featured in or are forthcoming from Crack the Spine Magazine, Dead Flowers: A Poetry Rag, 2River View, FIVE2ONE Magazine, and LEVELER Poetry Mag, among others.  She lives with her husband in northwestern Ohio.

kristinlafollette.blogspot.com

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

LIGHT BECOMING LIGHT

These small summer dawns
The light is just enough

And the moon, half-posing, pales
Overhead, hesitant, obsessing

Absence, and every spoiled cloud not yet
Detail waits in blue abeyance

For the stars’ demise
For the broad sun to glower,

Matter—retake this world.


About GTimothy Gordon:
Gordon's Open House (fictions) will be published in November 2014, while Ground of This Blue Earth and Under Aries were published in 2012 and 2014, respectively.  An expanded edition of the original Mellen P edition of Everything Speaking Chinese is currently pending book publication. He divides personal and professional lives among Asia, Europe, and the Mountain/Desert Southwest. 

Monday, November 24, 2014

TWO POEMS BY McPHERSON NEWELL

I could see myself falling in love with a beat poet 


I do not cook us breakfast
or lunch

we order every option we hadn't heard of
and ask if there are any 
not listed on the menu
any nostalgia they've been wanting to fry
slice, boil
steam

we wake up to indie music
sliding through the walls
the precursors to cool
kissing their way in our ears

he pierces his ears at Claire's
and I pretend he did it himself
in a back room
or bathroom

he whispers too often

and writes about my teeth
on a chain around his waist



The Tune of a Turning Point


My mind is a loom with a hacksaw in it,
and your highwired wrists don't know how to balance.
I think you write with your ankles,
and I think no one runs away to the circus anymore,
so let's adopt the only remaining freak show;
let's let them stare at our knit fingers.


About McPherson Newell:
McPherson Newell is a high school student attempting to sustain an obsession with poetry despite all amounts of homework that try to consume her time. Her work is forthcoming in the Eunoia Review.

Friday, November 21, 2014

Elegy for my Aunt with Only Lines from Her Emails

everything gets recycled

writing is not
a practical career
it's about the brain (a burst
of water)

the last word
being useless

About Jackson Sabbagh:
Jackson Sabbagh studied poetry at Sarah Lawrence College and is currently getting his MFA at University of Florida. He enjoys people-watching.

Thursday, November 6, 2014

TWO WINNERS SELECTED FROM OUR "QUOTE THEME" SUBMISSIONS

Principles of Design
by Howie Good


The suicide hotline rings
with infuriated doggedness.
It’s why I avoid lingering,

but even if I take a bus somewhere,
the sense of harmony
& resolution isn’t much.

Assistants with sturdy shears
must be sitting in the dark

blindly cutting clouds
in the shape of drowned continents
from plain white paper.


About Howie Good:

Howie Good's latest book of poetry is The Complete Absence of Twilight (2014) from MadHat Press. He has new collections forthcoming, including Fugitive Pieces (Right Hand Press) and Buddha & Co (Plain Wrap Press).




IN EXCELSIS
by Julie Shavin

To find fault, capsize on one flaw 
no matter how small
among goodness, or goodly intent
is human paradigm, 
crucifixion our daily bread.
One needn't multiply loaves 
to be summarily
inordinately
Deified.

About Julie Shavin:
A Kentucky native raised in Georgia, Julianza (Julie) Shavin, is a composer, writer, and visual artist who adopted the Rocky Mountains as home in 1993. Recipient of three Pikes Peak Arts Council grants, she was named 2011 PPAC Performance Poet of the Year; in 2012, Page Poet. She publishes often in literary magazines, and recently took 2nd place and two Honorable Mentions in the Mark Fisher Prize contest. This year she received three awards through the National Federation of State Poetry Societies. Her most recent book Of Mortality a Music was published by Dreamzion Press; her upcoming book is An Octave Above the Sea. Past-President of Poetry West (www.poetrywest.org), she served as editor of the thirtieth anniversary issue of its literary magazine The Eleventh Muse. She currently collaborates with New York-based spoken word artist Hank Beukema (e.g., https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uj3j5IS0qjU), and is an animal-welfare advocate/activist working with rescue groups all around Colorado and elsewhere.

Friday, October 10, 2014

SHORT LIFE

mother

supports the war.  brother

is one week
saying

losing the baby
is not a race, and the next

he’s returning

to pregnancy
spoils
the child. 

I sell
from my father’s attic
binoculars

to god

and cigarettes

to the sex
of my inner. 


About Barton Smock:
Barton Smock lives in Columbus, OH with his wife and four children.  He writes daily at kingsoftrain.wordpress.com, and self-publishes prolifically via his author spotlight on Lulu. His most recent title is The Women You Take From Your Brother.

Monday, October 6, 2014

MOTHER

taught me how to make my first fist,
how to stand up when being pushed down,
how to black the eyes of impossible odds. 

She worked two jobs, sometimes three,
I don’t know when she slept, 
but she always made breakfast,

smiling over the sizzling stove
in a bathrobe and slippered feet, 
feeding us pancakes until we were sick.

Her infectious laughter held those walls up,
nails and boards like prayers against a tornado,
watching us grow like storm clouds 

inside picture frames, flashes of lightning
changing the faces, with a love as constant 
as the rain. Let her smoke her cigarettes. 



About Jay Sizemore:
Jay Sizemore flunked out of college and has since sold his soul to corporate America. He still sings in the shower. Sometimes, he writes things down. His work has appeared online and in print in magazines such as Prick of the Spindle, DASH, Menacing Hedge, and Still: The Journal. He's never won any awards. Currently, he lives in Nashville, TN, home of the death of modern music. His chapbook Father Figures is currently available on Amazon.