Thursday, February 4, 2016

LONG LEFT EAST

The inch or two of snow
That fell during the night
Pushed then to either side
Of the tracks.

Foot-paths
Alongside the river
That shy north
Towards bigger water. 

Two days before the new year,
I sit and watch my brother
Stir awake in the seat next to mine,

As coffee begins to burn
Somewhere in the dining car
Ahead. 


About M. Vincent Marine:
M. Vincent Marine is a writer and painter living in Cleveland, Ohio. His work has appeared in the Three Line Poetry, Clift Magazine, and on flashfictionmagazine.com

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

LET ME BE ARTEMIS

i belong in the heartbeat
of a tree and the petals of a
flower,
but not in this concrete jungle
with mazes of people
who cannot remember that they're
more than monsters;
let the river
sing me songs and the moons
psalm me to sleep
let my bare feet dance across the grass
and upon the jagged sands
of oceans—
let me be artemis
tearing apart men with fangs of wolves and
coyotes and the claws of bears,
and the wounds of flowers
shrill as angry birds.


About Linda Crate:
Linda M. Crate is a Pennsylvanian native born in Pittsburgh yet raised in the rural town of Conneautville. Her poetry, short stories, articles, and reviews have been published in a myriad of magazines both online and in print. Recently her two chapbooks A Mermaid Crashing Into Dawn (Fowlpox Press - June 2013) and Less Than A Man (The Camel Saloon - January 2014) were published. Her fantasy novel Blood & Magic was published in March 2015. The second novel of this series Dragons & Magic was published in October 2015.  Her poetry collection Sing Your Own Song is forthcoming through Barometric Pressures Series. 

Friday, January 29, 2016

BLUE SHAPE of the WORLD

Between witch hazel, mountain laurel,
a curving earthen footpath slopes
to the high point.

Seven sisters in the river, seven white islands
bright as the ash of an animal fire
in the grey sun. 

She paints her blue shape of the world
in the clear waters we grieve
as the tallow of the beast colors the stream.

The rain tower descends with a talon
as the back of the mountain cages her heart
with the winter buried we shall enter. 



About John Swain:

John Swain lives in Louisville, Kentucky. Least Bittern Books published his second collection, Under the Mountain Born.

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

THREE POEMS by JOHN DORSEY

The Dinner Belle Always Rings Twice

At the dinner belle
young girls in hoodies
fold paper napkins
and shine tarnished butter knives
while whole families
share a single hamburger
and talk about the weather in owensville
this is the only whistle-stop cafe in town
minus the whistle
and the train 
going nowhere fast. 



Appalachian Homage to Cid Corman

zen either comes
from the bones
of our fathers

or gets buried
with them



Gasconade River Song #10

here children are raised 
to pump gas
to burn their shadows 
in effigy

the river only 
teaches you
to sing them
to sleep.



About John Dorsey:
John Dorsey is the author of several collections of poetry, including Sodomy is a City in New Jersey (American Mettle Books, 2010), Tombstone Factory (Epic Rites Press, 2013) and most recently, Appalachian Frankenstein (GTK Press, 2015). His work has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize. He may be reached at archerevans@yahoo.com

Thursday, January 21, 2016

STOLEN SENTENCE

The present is notoriously blind to itself in the first place.
           –        Robert Haas, introduction to The Best American Poetry 2001


Hey, Haas, it’s 2014, July,
but your sentence sings
like the mantra for today.
A neighbor’s lawnmower
can’t drown out its song,
so I’ll steal your sentence,
tear it from its context. Sorry.
No poetry on this frontier
of suburbia in the Sunshine State
where palmettos and pines
are bulldozed day after day.
My cat downs another scrub jay.
Hell, Haas, more and more
my sentences fall back into
a past tense, testaments
to the times before wild oscars
bullied schools of bluegills,
snakeheads terrorized largemouths,
and pythons wrestled alligators.
My present tense with
a disappearing geography.
The Everglades imprisoned for life
behind the berms of state roads.
Power lines ride U.S. 1 to
Homestead, Marathon, Key West.
Mangroves hang on by their roots.

About Stephen Reilly:
Stephen Reilly's poems appeared in Wraparound South, Main Street Rag, Broad River Review, Cape Rock, Poetry South, and other publications. One of his poems appears in the anthology Florida in Poetry: A History of the Imagination (edited by Jane Anderson Jones and Maurice O’Sullivan, Pineapple Press, Sarasota, Fla. 1995). He works as a staff writer for the Englewood Sun, a daily Florida newspaper with circulation in south Sarasota County, Charlotte and DeSoto counties. 

Thursday, December 10, 2015

a sparrow drowning at the desert's edge

smother the children and
mourn their ghosts

we are all guilty here

we are all lined up
against concrete walls
and given blindfolds
and how much of your
life did you waste
waiting to be older?

how afraid are you now
of becoming obsolete?

wake up one morning and
suddenly being alive is
no better or worse than
                   being dead

About John Sweet:
John Sweet, b. 1968, opposed to all organized religion and political parties. A believer in sunlight, and surrealism, and post-punk. Most recent collections include THE CENTURY OF DREAMING MONSTERS (2014 Lummox Press) and A NATION OF ASSHOLES W/ GUNS (2015 Scars Publications).
 

Thursday, October 8, 2015

TWO POEMS BY JAMES FREITAS

KATMAI'S KING

Katmai exhales.
Salmon flail and fly,
while the gales throw pink 
into the alpenglow.

The King leaves markers in moss,
his claws crush cutbanks
like fingers scratching suede.

The King is coated 
in golden river-water. He is
outlined by a softening sun. 
His roar rumbles—until 

the gunshot. 

Katmai’s king is still.

He sinks with the setting sun.


The Sun Can't Save Us

On that weekday morning we 
walked across the warming sand
toward the wide water we 
knew so well. 

And towels we set down were blown 
around by wind: a wind 
we hoped would blow away
our sins.

But in the water we were cleansed,
but in the end we are both sons
of Adam, and the bright sunlight 
can’t save us.

Walking out wet and dripping, 
intoxicated by the comforts:
the warming sand, the water that we knew
so well, 

We laid back on our backs 
and let the clouds shroud us
drowsily.

But the linen shirt over my face 
couldn’t shade me from the shame—
couldn’t shade me from the same sun
that couldn’t save us.


About James Freitas:
James Freitas is a New England poet. His work has been featured in The Santa Clara Review, The Commonline Journal, and is forthcoming in Poetry Pacific and others. 

Thursday, August 27, 2015

MAKE LOVE LIKE WAR

No need to look it up online. I already know why light bruises so easily. You and even I, a man with spirochetes floating inside, pass through time no problem. Although don’t expect too much. It’s like the full body scan at the airport except I’m lying on my back and floating up (but oh how slowly), up toward the frayed light, and there’s no far anymore and no near,  there’s no me and no you, there’s only flash, bang, boom, and this feeling of floating where the dark can’t.


About Howie Good:
Howie Good, a journalism professor at SUNY New Paltz, is the author of the forthcoming poetry collection Dark Specks in a Blue Sky from Another New Calligraphy.

Monday, August 24, 2015

RORSCHACH TEST

here is a picture of a glacier
something we know not to be true

with a mountain coming out of it
greener at the top 

usually it’s the other way around
but here

if you look into the ice hard enough
all the fossils will seem to have human faces

I know
it’s alright

the sunshine gets out through a hole in my head
you can’t see it

but it’s there
and we know what you really want

a song in the engine
there, there it is

a dictator 
of infinite benevolence


About Nate Maxon:
Nate Maxson is a writer and performance artist. He is the author of several collections of poetry, most recently The Age Of Jive from Red Dashboard Press. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Thursday, July 16, 2015

GLUE

Take down 
the stars and bars,

the Confederate
battle flag that flies,

over the Capitol 
in Charleston.

And take down
the Confederate 

veterans' monument, 
and the statue 
of the white supremacist, 

who was once 
governor and senator, 

that stand nearby.
Then take down all 

the remaining symbols,
every fiber
and every stone,

all of the vestiges 
of slavery,

every hair-thin remnant
of that terrible time

until not a rootlet remains
in any city or town.

But when they are all 
cleared away, taken down,  

carried off, and finally 
gone:  How to remove

the hatred that lingers 
in a grown man’s heart?


About Gil Hoy:
Gil Hoy is a Boston trial lawyer. He studied poetry at Boston University, while receiving a B.A. in Philosophy and Political Science, magna cum laude, and won a silver medal in the New England University Wrestling Championship at 177 lbs. Gil received an MA in Government from Georgetown University and a J.D. from the University of Virginia School of Law. He served as an elected Brookline, Massachusetts Selectman for four terms. Gil’s poems have been published recently in The New Verse News, Clark Street Review, The Penman Review, The Antarctica Journal, Third Wednesday, The Potomac, The Zodiac Review and To Hold A Moment Still, Harbinger Asylum’s 2014 Holidays Anthology.